Task Force For International Cooperation On Holocaust Education, Remembrance and Research

Print this page...

About the ITF

The Task Force for International Cooperation on Holocaust Education, Remembrance, and Research is an intergovernmental body whose purpose is to place political and social leaders' support behind the need for Holocaust education, remembrance, and research both nationally and internationally.

goran_perssonInitiated by Swedish Prime Minister Göran Persson in 1998, the Task Force currently has 31 member countries: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and United States of America. Professor Yehuda Bauer, former chair of the Yad Vashem Research Institute in Jerusalem, is the Task Force's Honorary Chairman.

Membership in the Task Force is open to all countries. Members must be committed to the Declaration of the Stockholm International Forum on the Holocaust, and must accept the principles adopted by the Task Force regarding membership. They must also be committed to the implementation of national policies and programs in support of Holocaust education, remembrance, and research. The governments comprising the Task Force agree on the importance of encouraging all archives, both public and private, to make their holdings on the Holocaust more widely accessible. The Task Force also encourages appropriate forms of Holocaust remembrance.

Countries wishing to create programs in Holocaust education or to further develop their existing information materials and activities in this area are invited to work together with the Task Force. To this end Liaison Projects can be established between countries and the Task Force for long-term cooperation. Such cooperation is mutually beneficial to all concerned.


The Task Force currently has a formal observer relationship with Bulgaria, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Portugal, and Turkey.

The Task Force has also established specialized committees to address antisemitism and Holocaust denial, the situation of the Roma and the Roma genocide, memorial sites, information projects, comparative genocide, and special challenges in Holocaust education.

Print this page... Top of page...